ILAC MRA 2022 Annual Report published

NoticesInternational activities

ILAC and its accreditation body members invest significant effort and resources to maintain the integrity and consistency of the ILAC Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA), also known as the ILAC Arrangement, through a peer evaluation process. This report sets out the detailed activities that regulators, specifiers, and businesses can have confidence in the Arrangement. 

ILAC MRA Annual Report can be downloaded HERE

ILAC is the international authority on laboratory, inspection body, reference material producer, proficiency testing provider, and biobank accreditation, with a membership consisting of accreditation bodies, regional cooperation bodies, and stakeholder organizations throughout the world.

 ILAC provides the infrastructure that supports the worldwide demonstration of competence and equivalence of accredited CABs.
The essential purpose of accreditation is to provide confidence in the competence of CABs which support activities within and between economies including trade, protection of health, safety, and the environment, for the public benefit. 

ILAC Arrangement is an international, multilateral mutual recognition arrangement for accreditation bodies. Participating accreditation bodies agree to promote acceptance of the equivalence of calibration, test and inspection reports, proficiency testing programs and reference materials, produced by accredited facilities (CABs). Each accreditation body undergoes peer evaluation according to international standards and ILAC rules and procedures prior to becoming a signatory to the ILAC Arrangement. 

ILAC Arrangement is currently in the process of being extended to include accreditation of biobanks extended to include the accreditation of biobanks as detailed later in this report under the On-going development of the ILAC MRA. 

Signatories to the ILAC MRA 

ILAC MRA is based on the established and peer-evaluated multi-lateral arrangements (MRA/MLAs) of the recognized regional cooperation bodies. Accreditation bodies that are Associate members of ILAC and a signatory to a recognized regional MRA/MLA are accepted as signatories to the ILAC MRA
 The scope of the ILAC MRA currently covers the following accreditation schemes:

•    Calibration laboratories using ISO/IEC 17025;
•    Testing laboratories using ISO/IEC 17025:
•    Medical laboratories using ISO 15189;
•    Inspection bodies using ISO/IEC 17020;
•    Proficiency testing providers using ISO/IEC 17043;
•    Reference material producers using ISO 17034.

We remind you that ATS is a signatory to the ILAC MRA Arrangement from 24.05.2012 for the fields of calibration testing, and from 25.10.2012, also for the field of inspection. You can look at other signed multilateral agreements of ATS HERE