Framework Partnership Agreement between EA and the European Commission

International activities

On 30th June, Chairman of the European Cooperation for Accreditation (EA), Graham Talbot, signed the Framework Partnership Agreement between EA and the European Commission. The European Commission was represented by Ms Liliana Brykman, Enterprise and Industry DG. 

This Agreement formally establishes the partnership between EA and the Commission in the context of accreditation policy as set out in Regulation 765/2008 (EC) of the European Parliament and of the Council of 9 July 2008. The Agreement covers a period of 4 years commencing on 1 January 2010.

Following this Agreement, Chairman of the EA also signed a Specific Agreement on an Operating Grant for 2010 in which the Commission has decided to grant a financial award to EA to undertake its work programme to provide the official accreditation infrastructure in Europe.

The signing of these two agreements marks the culmination of many year's preparation and the official recognition of the new place that EA has within the European infrastructure.